Posted on

What Words Can Only Describe

Wrote this on school retreat at the top of a mountain at sunset.  My camera had just ran out of battery, so I thought I’d better use another means to remember what I saw.

We are far away from the city,

From the droning of cars and

Smouldering of human emotions.

With the cries of those behind us

And silence all that lays ahead,

We watch teh sun nestle

Behind the far mountains.

Its final peeping rays cast lines of light onto

The bent wheat heads

As the bird bids all goodnight

And the frog croaks contently.

We see the hills rolling beneath us,

Hear the birds trilling softly,

Smell the wet, woody forest scent

And know that we are home.

As the violet-grey shapes of clouds

Close across the horizon like

Lines of frowns on a forehead,

I look back and think

Maybe there is a God.

But then I decided later that there wasn’t one, so it was all in vain, pretty much.

About E.K.M.

Studying at university, passing the time until a publishing Talent Scout comes to pick me up and whisk me away to a world where I can be an author without having another source of income. If only.

Leave a Reply

